My Mediterranean Diet

Hello again everyone! I decided to try a Mediterranean diet and I’ll be sharing with you how well I was able to stick to it, being allergic to dairy. I chose the Mediterranean diet specifically because it is the one I think is most aligned with the dairy allergen. For example, the South Beach diet would’ve been a very difficult choice. I’ll be sharing my diet based on the meals I consume daily. I remember when I tried a vegan diet and it lasted for almost a month so this shouldn’t be so hard.

Day 1:

•Breakfast: Soaked overnight oatmeal in almond milk, honey, with chia seeds, flaxseed, along with half ripe banana.

•Lunch: I blended beets, chia seeds, pumpkin seeds, strawberry, banana, mango, ginger and almonds.

•Dinner: I went simple and had stewed veggie chunks and boiled pumpkins and carrots.

Day 2:

•Breakfast: Soft boiled egg with whole grain toast and plant based almond butter, and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice along side with some fruits.

•Lunch: Banana smoothie made with almond milk

•Dinner: Chicken breast and red kidney bean stew served with rotis.

Day 3:

•Breakfast: Oats, plantain and carrot porridge – blended with nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla extract added.

•Lunch: Blended smoothies – either with coconut water.

•Dinner: I cooked plantain and sweet potatoes marinated in coconut milk.

Day 4:

•Breakfast: Cream of wheat blended with green plantain and almond milk for breakfast with whole grain toast.

•Lunch: Quinoa and red beans cooked in coconut milk with spinach and callaloo.

•Dinner: Baked chicken breast with corn and green beans.

Day 5:

•Breakfast: Classic cornmeal porridge alongside with fruits.

•Lunch: Peanut butter with celery and carrots and a slice of toast.

•Dinner: Exotic red beans and vegetables stew.

Day 6:

•Breakfast: A smoothie with oatmeal, flaxseed, chia seeds, blueberries and almonds, with 2 hard boiled eggs.

•Lunch: Soft boiled eggs and a green salad

•Dinner: Had a light dinner of bean stew and whole grain bread. You can make anything into a meal for any time of the day!

Day 7:

•Breakfast: An omelette made with spinach and sweet peppers and a slice of toast.

•Lunch: Fresh salad with almonds and corn.

•Dinner: Steamed rice and dark red kidney beans with steamed vegetables.

Whew! It has been such an experience! I feel great, I get this great energy boost in the mornings. My whole body felt different and my mood was over the moon. Not to mention all that extra yummy fat feeling non-existent now.

I would definitely continue with the diet I chose to experiment with this week because it’s like that Jamaican proverb, “use one stone kill two bird.” With the Mediterranean diet I’ll be staying away from all/most  things dairy as well as working on losing weight or just make more healthy choices where food is concerned. Comment and share with me what diet you are currently on or want to try in the near future. I’ll definitely let you guys know what I try next!

Published by Anushia Garcia-Stewart

I am a graduate of the George Brown College Centre for Hospitality and Culinary Arts.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started