Introduction: Let’s Talk Nutrition

According to (Butler, 2017), “Nutrition is the study of nutrients in food, how the body uses nutrients, and the relationship between diet, health, and disease.”    https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/160774.php

A topic that catches my attention in my studies of Nutrition is Micronutrients and how much we need them. However what I really want to explore more about is Carbohydrates and I will tell you guys why in my next blog post.

Nutrition has and will continuously play a very essential role in the culinary industry. I say this because health has always been an important thing and now people are becoming more health conscious and skeptic of what they are or are not eating. Hence, culinary industries will have to meet their clientele. As a practicing professional chef, I believe it’s good for me to study nutrition and make a note to practice all that I learn as well as share with everyone the do’s an don’ts.

You may want to read up on what’s good or what isn’t good for your body on many different sites but it iskey to remember that not all sites are credible.

How can you determine the credibility of a website?
  • A site that I would reference as one that is credible is World Health Organization. Here’s why: information coming from this website would definitely have to be based on research done by scientists, doctors and other notary persons to provide credible information. Additionally, the site posts the authors and that characteristic also adds credibility.
  • I would reference Wikipedia to be a site that isn’t so credible. Why? Wikipedia is an internet based encyclopedia that everyone has access to; this means that anyone can edit the information put there. Hence, you may have an article telling you that drinking water causes nausea, simply because someone (anyone) decided to mess around with the article.

You may read up more about this here: https://eliteediting.com/resources/where-to-find-credible-sources-for-your-research-paper/

Published by Anushia Garcia-Stewart

I am a graduate of the George Brown College Centre for Hospitality and Culinary Arts.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started